Though it may not come out of my mouth directly and my heart doesn’t want to confess it, I sometimes find my actions speaking louder than I can and they are clearly saying “I’m too busy for Him”.

“I’m tired from work” “I have school in the morning” “my family/friends are stressing me out”. As young adults, we can relate to this. This is the stage in our lives where we are faced with life’s demands. It is also a time of options and decision making; many of which we hope would lead us to a successful future. This could mean deciding on where in the world you would like to live, searching for a life-partner, making choices to improve your physical & mental health, positioning yourself in the right places to grow your career, investing in businesses and taking advantage of opportunities to build wealth, etc.

These are some of the things we juggle as young adults, which may appear to make us seem as though we are indeed busy; but how busy are we? Why too busy for God and not our finances or our relationships? Didn’t He say He would take care of all of these things if we seek Him?

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you” -Matthew 6:33

This was said by Jesus to his disciples after cautioning them about focusing on earthly treasures instead of heavenly ones (V 19 -20) and worrying about various aspects of their lives (V 25-32).

“Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? (Matthew 6:30)

So if He says He would take care of everything, shouldn’t we be less busy? Many of us know and agree with this scripture, yet we are still “too busy” like I was when asked to write this article. It was at this moment that all other aspects of my life came to the forefront, demanding my attention, time and energy, making me instantly pre-occupied.

A question we should honestly ask ourselves when we seem too busy (for many things really) is this: Are we too busy? Or could it be an excuse? I’ve come to realize that if there is a desire to do something, we will look for every way possible to do it. Even If it means conquering fears, getting over laziness, taking chances, etc., it will be done or at least strived towards. The real reason we make excuses not to do something is because we simply would rather not do them or we are not willing to (even if it’s just for that moment or at that time).

Although it is different for everyone, for me it was reflecting on how I was too busy for Him but not my drive for success. My focus on issues, events or activities related to this topic sometimes made me “unavailable” for God but when I read 1 peter 5:7 which says “cast all your care upon Him for He careth for you” and other similar scriptures (psalms 55:22, Isaiah 41:10), I realize that God is there for all of these decision making and options we as young adults are faced with and he wants us to trust that he has the best in mind for us (Jeremiah 29:11). So our main goal especially at this age is to put him first, not our jobs or any other earthly treasure. When we stop making excuses that we are “too busy for Him” or would rather not, and start building our cares/desires around God instead of the other way around, he will make us more successful in them far beyond what we could ever do for ourselves.

I’d love to close with a phrase written by Entrepreneur Dani Johnson in one of her articles: http://www.danijohnson.com/2010/the-10-step-formula-for-building-wealth-and-keeping-it/

God is your boss. God sees your diligence, the extra hours, the motivation, and the heart that you’re pouring into your job and He will bless the fruit of your hands.

Let us all remember to put more time and effort into God over all other aspects of our lives.

With love,

Dupe, Adegbusi

