Hello wonderful readers, here is something wonderful to end this week. It’s all about your perspective.

When I was requested to do this article, I wasn’t necessarily in the best frame of mind. Apparently, I had woken up that morning feeling a little off – couldn’t really figure why though – but oh well, I had to be at work, so there was no way I was going to let my frame of mind dictate the way my day was going to be. To be honest, it was a day I didn’t feel like communing with God. As a matter of fact, there were series of things that popped up in the day that made me question my existence (Ok, it wasn’t that deep, but you get my point). Ultimately, it was an emotional day.

At about 3 pm, after I got home from work, I decided I needed to feel better, so I turned to my most recent favorite album (The Hill- Travis Green). During this time, the flood of thoughts decided to flow -You would think I had great and inspirational thoughts right? About 30 minutes into my thoughts, I’d like to think that big brother “Jesus Christ” aka El’Roi saw how I was doing in that moment and decided to do something about it.   I was then immediately reminded about the scripture that says

“We don’t have a priest who is out of touch with our reality. He’s been through weakness and testing, experienced it all—all but the sin. So let’s walk right up to him and get what he is so ready to give. Take the mercy, accept the help.”-Heb 4:15-16(MSG).

I also remembered messages from a preacher I have been listening to for the last month or so. In that moment, I realized that this “off feeling of no reason whatsoever” (aka, obstacle) was a push in the right direction (stepping stone). Here’s a few things that got me back on #ModeThankful.

  • Nothing is ever about me and seeing that I am made for God’s pleasure, then I’m good.
  • If life went south, His Name would be at stake (I’m a proud daughter of Zion like that- Bite me J)
  • Through His Word, there is CONSISTENT transformation (you may not see it in the moment-give it time)
  • How, I’m reminded that I’m His treasure and the Apple of His eyes. Nothing is happening to the apple of my mother/father’s eyes, talk less God’s own!
  • God’s timing is Perfection (in EVERYTHING that concerns us) -Never Early, Never Late, JUST PERFECT!!!!

So, call me cliché, but the way I see it, most things (if not everything) happen for a reason. Writing this note from a personal place wouldn’t have happened if I didn’t have something to channel. As little as this experience may seem, I remembered El’Roi (ask Google for the meaning).  To be honest, I didn’t even have to pray in order that I may feel better. (Please, this is not to say Prayer isn’t a go to- I just wasn’t in the frame of mind to pray, but one thing was sure and always is anyway- I NEEDED JESUS!)

Our walk with the Father doesn’t mean you will not have “interesting” days or moments- It just means that there is only so much we can do for ourselves and eventually, we may have to turn to our Big Brother. Your perspective about your life and/or how you experience it really depends on you. Ask God to work on your perspective and do your part by seeking Him. Its as easy as studying the scriptures. I have found that God is such a simple guy but He’s not necessarily “simplistic” (we may understand by now that He can be DEEP). It takes only the HOLY SPIRIT to shine some light on whatever spot you are standing in to enable you see Him at consistent and outstanding work.

Contrary to popular believe, God is not “One Way”. He is very dynamic and it takes digging to know that HE HAS ALWAYS BEEN DYNAMIC. So, for those who think life isn’t going as planned even as you put in work into it’s structure, embrace a new perspective. Isaiah 55:9 says

For as the sky soars high above earth,
so the way I work surpasses the way you work,
and the way I think is beyond the way you think.

At the end of the day, we are all His’ and in order for us to keep thriving in this ever so glorious race of being a Jesus Follower, GOD HAS OUR BACKS and His major concern is US!!!

Stay Thankful & Trusting.

Yours with love,

Dorcas Oluwamayowa Shittu.

 

 

 

